Looking at the Titanic: Information Graphic

Posted: February 16, 2011 in Uncategorized

This information graphic, I came across on the internet.

It establishes the amount of people on the famous ship Titanic, before it sank on April 14, 1912.  This graphic also visually represents the number of people per class, being first, second or third class, and where they were situated on the ships.

This information graphic was basically added to demonstrate how numbers can easily be visualized, particularly to a concept we are all quite familiar with, being the sinking of the Titanic.

While I do believe that the websites inability to include information to what the graphic literally represents, I still feel it worked because I like all the detail the author had included. For instance, having the two half’s of the ship separated.

The graphic is consistent with archaeological and historical evidence that supports how the ship sunk and how many people per class were on each level at the time the Titanic sank. Also little detail like the sea floor, fish, as well as the percise detail of the ship itself.

I still wish that this graphic would have more of a story line to it in order for me to base my judgement of the graphic itself. But I liked this graphic and it caught my attention, because I too am quite familiar with the sinking of this great ship. And my familiarity with it is not entirely based on the movie.

Information Graphic taken from: Caring About the Data: Eagereyes

 

Sincerely,

Your Media Watchdog

Leave a Reply

